Jan 4
8:51 AM

Selected California Laws Going into Effect Jan. 1, 2011

A blue alert system  will notify the public when a law enforcement officer has been attacked. SB 839

Landlords  will no longer be allowed to terminate a lease based on domestic violence against the tenant or tenant’s household members. The law also requires landlords to change the exterior locks of a tenant’s dwelling no later than 24 hours after the tenant provides a written request with supporting court or police documentation.  SB 782

Anyone under the age of 21 is protected from prosecution for possession or consumption of alcohol when that person is the first to report an alcohol-related medical emergency and remains on the scene until medical personnel arrive. AB 1999

Penalties have been heightened for reckless driving while attempting to photograph or capture other types of images or impressions of individuals. This anti-paparazzi law provides for liability under the civil invasion of privacy statute along with other damages and remedies. It is aimed at those who commit “false imprisonment” by driving recklessly or blocking sidewalks in order to take photographs or make recordings of celebrities. AB 2479

Medical marijuana cooperatives, collectives, dispensaries, operators, establishments, or providers who possess, cultivate or distribute medical marijuana are prevented from being located within 600 feet of a public or private K-12 school.  AB 2650

Any adult  over the age of 18 carrying no more than 28.5 grams of marijuana will now be guilty of an infraction, rather than a criminal misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of no more than $100. This law also makes the possession of unauthorized concentrated cannabis an offense with punishment of up to a year in jail or a fine of no more than $500. Possession of more than 28.5 grams without a medical permit is subject to criminal prosecution but at reduced sentences of fines up to $500 and/or six months of jail time. SB1449

Malicious, credible impersonation through a website, e-mail account or social media will become a crime punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and a year in county jail. The law makes “harming, intimidating, threatening or defrauding another person” online and without their consent a misdemeanor. It allows the victim to sue the imitator for damages and losses. SB 1411

All parolees who are transferred from any other state or the federal government must now be assessed using the current risk assessment tool that is used for California sex offenders. This will ensure that parole agents are aware of the risk of re-offending by all of their parolees, not just those released from California prisons. SB 1201


Leave a Reply