Task Force Membership

A Sustainability Task Force was charged to study the status of sustainability at USD, research best practices at other universities, and develop a strategic plan by March 2008. The task force met twice monthly to discuss possible short-term and long-term initiatives for a strategic plan. The result was their “Outline of Sustainability Initiatives,” which encompassed academics; outreach and community relations; auxiliaries; facilities operations; campus life; and executive decisions. The task force distilled this extensive outline into a proposed two-year action plan that highlighted the initiatives in each category that task force members considered to be most timely, important, or feasible. The task force specifically noted that implementing the action plan would require the guidance of a full-time director with sufficient authority and resources to take action. The university joined AASHE (Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education), participated in both Focus the Nation and Earth Week, launched a newsletter (electronic, of course!), and began audits of energy and water use.


As of January 2017, below is the updated Sustainability Task Force. This Task Force is first charged with developing and implementing the USD Climate Action Plan.



Michael Catanzaro, Director of Sustainability
Scott Anders, Energy Policy Initiatives Center, Director

Sustainability Task Force Members

Michel Boudrias, Associate Professor of Environmental and Ocean Sciences
Tom Herrinton, Vice Provost
Chris Navye, Assistant Provost for Community Engagement
Mike Williams, Director, Changemaker Hub, Associate Professor, Political Science and International Relations
Peter Marlow, Associate Vice President, University Communications
Emma Rojas-Liseski, Assistant Director, Parking Services
Laura Engeman, Climate Collaborative Coordinator
Melissa Plaskonos, Assistant Vice President, Facilities Management
Dan Yourg, Associate Director of Athletics for Business
Dawn Anderson, Director, Procurement Services & Print Shop
Michael Lovette-Colyer, Assistant Vice President for University Ministry
Andre Mallie, Assistant Vice President, Auxiliary Services
Greg Zackowski, Senior Assistant Director, Campus Recreation
Kristin Mitchell, ’16, AS Senate Sustainability Chair
David Horber, ’18, Graduate Assistant Office of Sustainability

Sustainability Task Force Executive Council (Ex Officio Members)

Dr. James T. Harris, President
Ky Snyder, Vice President for Athletics and Facilities