2014 Remarkable Leaders in Education: (left to right:) Beatriz Villarreal, Harry Weinberg, Hugh Mehan, Sharon Whitehurst-Payne and Christopher Yanov

Remarkable Leaders in Education honors legendary contributions to the field of education made by individuals from San Diego and Imperial Counties.

Nominations may be submitted for leaders who, through their role as administrators, teachers, counselors, parents, volunteers, advocates, or community leaders, have made a significant impact on education in our community. Their leadership has demonstrated a commitment to initiate positive change to K-12 or higher education in San Diego or Imperial Counties.

These Remarkable Leaders in Education serve as models of excellence for our future educators and inspire them to work hard, dream big and initiate positive change.

View biographies of our previous honorees.

2012 Remarkable Leaders Honorees

Dean Paula A. Cordeiro pictured with 2012 honorees left to right: Vance Mills, Patricia Dixon, Alberto Ochoa, Mary L. Walshok and Damen Lopez