Core Group

Changemaker Hub Leadership

Mike Williams
Director, Changemaker Hub
Associate Professor, Political Science and International 
Juan Carlos Rivas
Assistant Director, Changemaker Hub
Chris Nayve
Advisor for Community Engagement, Changemaker Hub
Director, Mulvaney Center

Core Group

The CORE group focuses on developing the foundation and the strategy to support our designation as an Ashoka U Changemaker Campus. The team learns about and shares the various changemaker initiatives on campus (from centers, groups, schools, units, etc.) and develops strategies and tactics for connecting, integrating efforts and collaborating for sustained impact. A key aspect of the core team is to analyze the use of existing resources for USD to identify mechanisms for greater efficiency and effectiveness, leveraging synergies and creativity for further integration. The Core team serves as a resource and connection to help USD Staff, Faculty and students engage and understand their connection to a changemaking culture.

  Grace Michel
Interim Assistant Director, Center for Peace and Commerce
gracemichel@sandiego.edu
  Michael Lovette-Colyer
Assistant Vice President, Office of University Ministry
mlovettecolyer@sandiego.edu
Cynthia Avery
Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs 
studentlife@sandiego.edu
  Peter Marlow
Associate Vice President, University Communications 
petermarlow@sandiego.edu
  Pamela Gray Payton
Assistant Vice President, Public Affairs
pgray@sandiego.edu
Cheryl Getz
Associate professor, School of Leadership and Education Sciences
cgetz@sandiego.edu
  Ron Kaufmann
Associate Professor, Marine Science and Environmental Studies
kaufmann@sandiego.edu
Pauline Berryman Powell
Assistant Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
berryman@sandiego.edu
  Katie Coutermarsh
President, Associated Students
kcoutermarsh@sandiego.edu
  Dayanne Izmirian
Assistant Dean of Residential Life
dizmirian@sandiego.edu
Derrick Cartwright
Director of University Galleries; Professor of Practice, Art History
dcartwright@sandiego.edu
Jonathan Bowman
Associate Professor, Communication Studies Associate Dean
bowman@sandiego.edu